Community Events

Housing and Assistive Technology, Inc. (HAT) attends many local and state conferences and community events relating to persons with disabilities.  Below are just a few resources that provide information on community events and conferences.

Local Events in Miami-Dade, Broward and West Palm Beach Counties

The CIL Broward ADA Expo www.cilbrowardadaexpo.com

Saturday, July 12, 2014 and Sunday, July 13, 2014
Location:  Broward County Convention Center, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Disabilities Expo - 2014 www.disabilitiesexpo.com

Saturday, October 11, 2014 from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Location:  Nova Southeastern University, Davie, Florida

Senior Lifestyle and Healthcare Expo

Monday, November 3, 2014 from 9:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Location: South County Civic Center, 16700 Jog Road, Delray Beach, Florida

Senior Lifestyle and Healthcare Expo

Monday, March 2, 2015 from 9:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Location: South County Civic Center, 16700 Jog Road, Delray Beach, Florida

Disability.Gov www.disability.gov

Disability.Gov is the federal government website that provides in-depth information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The website links you to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations. The website adds information on a daily basis relating to benefits, civil rights, community life, education, employment, health, housing, assistive technology and transportation.

Special Olympics www.specialolympics.org

The Special Olympics provides year-round sports training and athletic competition in a variety of Olympic-type sports for children and adults with intellectual disabilities.  They provide opportunities to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and develop friendships with friends, families, other Special Olympics athletes and the community.

Florida Disabled Outdoors Association www.fdoa.org

The Florida Disabled Outdoors Association is a non-profit organization that focuses on enhancing and enriching the lives of persons with disabilities through accessible outdoor recreation.

Easter Seals of Florida www.fl.easterseals.com

Easter Seals of Florida provides information and links on community events for persons with disabilities.

The Able Trust www.abletrust.org

The Able Trust provides information and links on community events for persons with disabilities.

The Arc www.thearc.org

The Arc provides links and information on conferences and community events for persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Best Buddies www.bestbuddies.org

In additional to establishing one-on-one relationships between volunteers and persons with disabilities, Best Buddies provides news and events on activities for persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities.